HEAL Community Partner Committee

The HEAL Community Partner Committee (HCPC) consists of members who have experience with pain conditions and/or opioid use disorder (OUD) – including patients, advocates, patient liaisons, and/or family members of someone with these conditions. The committee will provide input on key issues faced by individuals affected by pain conditions or OUD to ensure the relevance and practicality of HEAL-supported research. HCPC input will be used to help the NIH HEAL Initiative identify, refine, and prioritize patient and community engagement activities and scientific research activities and protocols.

The HCPC was established as a subcommittee of the Multi-Disciplinary Working Group (MDWG), which comprises members of NIH-chartered advisory councils and other ad hoc experts in pain and addiction research, including leaders in the private sector and academic research community. The MDWG provides a transparent venue for stakeholders and members of the public to discuss the NIH HEAL Initiative and facilitates the exchange of scientific information about NIH HEAL Initiative programs.

HEAL Community Partner Committee Members

Kevin Charles – Peer Specialist, Family and Medical Counseling of Washington, D.C.; Member of the Howard University Community Advisory Board

Dawn Edwards – Patient Advisor for the NIH HEAL Initiative Hemodialysis Opioid Prescription Effort (HOPE) Consortium

Stephanie Smith – Person With Chronic Pain

Jessica Hulsey Nickel – President and CEO, Addiction Policy Forum

Christin Veasley – Co-Founder and Director, Chronic Pain Research Alliance

Philip Rutherford – Chief Operating Officer, Faces & Voices of Recovery

Bianca Landaeta – Peer Recovery Coach, Northeast Georgia Community Connections Program; Member of the Georgia Council on Substance Abuse