HEAL Data Ecosystem Collective Board

On this page:

The NIH HEAL Initiative® established a Collective Board, with rotating members from various HEAL studies, in January 2022 to guide the overall strategy and direction of the HEAL Data Ecosystem. The HEAL Data Ecosystem Collective Board will provide a close connection between Ecosystem activities and the NIH HEAL Initiative research community. The Board is made up of individual HEAL investigators and researchers and is representative of the scientific topic areas and diverse data needs across HEAL.


The Collective Board guides the strategy and direction of the HEAL Data Ecosystem to develop methods and norms, cultivate a culture of sharing, and maximize collaboration to enable translational discoveries directly benefiting patients in the opioid use disorder and pain communities. 

Roles and Responsibilities

  • Provide NIH HEAL Initiative leadership with recommendations and feedback from diverse HEAL research communities. 

  • Escalate issues and opportunities with broad potential impact to the HEAL Data Ecosystem. 

  • Evaluate and disseminate resources developed by the Stewards and Platform. 

  • Prioritize outreach and development activities of the Platform and Stewards.  

Collective Board members serve as an invaluable resource to the HEAL Data Ecosystem. Their knowledge and experience will help guide decisions and future directions of the Ecosystem and the NIH HEAL Initiative as a whole. 


  • Meredith Adams, Wake Forest School of Medicine (Co-chair)
  • Emine Bayman, University of Iowa 
  • Marisa Briones, BDH Pharma 
  • Abhik Das, RTI International 
  • Mike Dean, University of Utah School of Medicine 
  • Georgene Hergenroeder, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston 
  • Steve Johnson, New York University Grossman School of Medicine 
  • Charlie Knott, RTI International 
  • David Luo, University of California, Irvine School of Medicine
  • Jessica Magidson, University of Maryland 
  • Rosemarie Martin, Brown University 
  • Micah McCumber, Collaborative Studies Coordinating Center, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health 
  • Pilar Ossorio, University of Wisconsin‒Madison 
  • Ty Ridenour, RTI International 
  • Abeed Sarker, Emory University School of Medicine
  • Chelsea Shover, UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
  • Wes Thompson, Laureate Institute for Brain Research (Co-chair)
  • Anca Tilea, University of Michigan 

Learn more about this effort and read the Collective Board members’ biographies.