HEAL Partnership Committee


The HEAL Partnership Committee (HPC) is a subgroup of the HEAL Multi-Disciplinary Working Group and provides assistance with defined tasks related to the development of new treatments for pain and addiction through Helping to End Addiction Long-term® Initiative, or NIH HEAL Initiative®, research. The HPC is responsible for making preliminary recommendations on the design of a template application and evaluation dossier for biopharmaceutical and device-based treatments to be tested through new clinical trials networks as part of the NIH HEAL Initiative. The working group incorporates input from the HPC into draft recommendations for NIH HEAL Initiative research, including on the process for the selection of assets for testing, the overall complement of assets to be tested at one time and the plan for expanding the portfolio to devices and biological treatments. Discussions of the HPC are made open to the public through videocasts and public meetings.


HEAL Partnership Committee Meeting, June 9, 2021

The HEAL Partnership Committee met to discuss updates to the EPPIC-Net program and Foundation for the NIH informational interviews with committee members in regards to biomarker development.


John Dunlop, Ph.D.

Head of Research and Development, Neumora

Christopher Flores, Ph.D.

President and Chief Research and Development Officer, Doloromics

Steven Joffe, M.D.

Art and Ilene Penn Professor of Medical Ethics & Health Policy, Professor of Pediatrics, and Chair of the Department of Medical Ethics & Health Policy at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine

Walter Koroshetz, M.D.

Director, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, National Institutes of Health

Mark Mintun, M.D.

Vice-President of Pain and Neurodegeneration Research, and Clinical Development Chief Medical Officer, Avid Radiopharmaceuticals

Judith Paice, Ph.D., RN

Director, Cancer Pain Program, Division of Hematology-Oncology; Research Professor of Medicine, Northwestern University

Joni Rutter, Ph.D.

Director, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, National Institutes of Health

Lindsey Seidlitz, M.P.P.

Senior Director, Policy and Research, Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America

Cheryl Stucky, Ph.D.

Marvin Wagner Endowed Chair, Cell Biology, Neurobiology, and Anatomy, Medical College of Wisconsin

Mary Thanh Hai, M.D.

Deputy Director, Clinical of the Office of New Drugs, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Dave Thomas, M.S.

Vice President of Industry Research, Biotechnology Innovation Organization

Christin Veasley

Cofounder and Director, Chronic Pain Research Alliance

Clifford Woolf, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Neurology and Neurobiology, Harvard Medical School