HEAL Partnership Committee


The HEAL Partnership Committee (HPC) is a subgroup of the HEAL Multi-Disciplinary Working Group and provides assistance with defined tasks related to the development of new treatments for pain and addiction through Helping to End Addiction Long-term® Initiative, or NIH HEAL Initiative®, research. The HPC is responsible for making preliminary recommendations on the design of a template application and evaluation dossier for biopharmaceutical and device-based treatments to be tested through new clinical trials networks as part of the NIH HEAL Initiative. The working group incorporates input from the HPC into draft recommendations for NIH HEAL Initiative research, including on the process for the selection of assets for testing, the overall complement of assets to be tested at one time and the plan for expanding the portfolio to devices and biological treatments. Discussions of the HPC are made open to the public through videocasts and public meetings.


The HEAL Partnership Committee met to discuss updates to the EPPIC-Net program and Foundation for the NIH informational interviews with committee members in regards to biomarker development.


Rebecca Baker, Ph.D.

Director, NIH HEAL Initiative, Office of the Director, National Institutes of Health

Patrizia Cavazzoni, M.D.

Deputy Director for Operations, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

John Dunlop, Ph.D.

Vice President, Neuroscience Research, Amgen

Christopher Flores, Ph.D.

Vice President and Glutamatergic Pathway Area Leader, Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson

Steven Joffe, M.D.

Founders Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy, University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine

Walter Koroshetz, M.D.

Director, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, National Institutes of Health

John Marler, M.D.

Acting Clinical Deputy Director, Division of Neurological and Physical Medicine Devices, Center for Devices and Radiological Health, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Mark Mintun, M.D.

Vice-President of Pain and Neurodegeneration Research and Clinical Development, Eli Lilly and Company; President, Avid Radiopharmaceuticals, Inc.

Richard Moscicki, M.D.

Executive Vice President and Science & Regulatory Advocacy Chief Medical Officer, Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America

Judith Paice, Ph.D., RN

Director, Cancer Pain Program, Division of Hematology-Oncology; Research Professor of Medicine, Northwestern University

Joni Rutter, Ph.D.

Acting Director, National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences, National Institutes of Health

Cheryl Stucky, Ph.D.

Professor, Cell Biology, Neurobiology, and Anatomy, Medical College of Wisconsin

Dave Thomas, M.S.

Vice President of Industry Research, Biotechnology Innovation Organization

Christin Veasley

Cofounder and Director, Chronic Pain Research Alliance

Kenneth Verburg, Ph.D.

Senior Vice President and Medicine Team Leader, Pfizer

Ashley Wittorf, M.S., M.B.A.

Executive Director, AdvaMed Accel

Clifford Woolf, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor of Neurology and Neurobiology, Harvard Medical School